N.F.Railway Mazdoor Union celebrated International Women`s Day

N.F.RAILWAY MAZDOOR UNION observed the International Women’s Day in befitting manner throughout N.F.Railway on 8th March, 2016. 

On 8th May at about 10.AM in front of Railway Head Quarter at Maligaon amidst the large applause of hundreds of women Smt. Kalpana Rajkumar, President of Ladies Branch unfurled the union flag.

The main part of the celebration was to falicitate two gold madelist of South Asian Games held recently at Guwahati.  Smt. T Vidyalaxmi and Y. Premi Devi, who have been working in N.F.Railway, won gold medal in Cycling and Football respectively.

Students of IIRDA, an Institute of physically challenged, staged various programmes like dance, song and Art etc which drawn special attraction of the audience. Entire programme was monitored by Smt. Kalpana Rajkumar & Smt. Asmi Ahmed, President & treasurer respectively of   Maligaon Ladies Branch.

At Lumding a seminar followed by cultural programme was held in presence of about 250 women workers which was inaugurated by Smt. Mandira Das Sharma Principal of Lumding Women`s College

In presence of Chief Guest Md. Jahangir, DPO/Lumding the seminar was addressed by Shri Dilip Deb, Central Working President, Shri Subash Singh Asstt. General Secretary, Smt Anjali Sinha Ex. President of Ladies wing, Smt Madhumita Dey Paul, Zonal Secretary of Women`s Committee, Smt. Madhuparna Banik Kar, Secretary of Ladeis wing, Chumki Mitra  and many others with Smt. Ajanta Bhuyan, President of the Ladies wing in the chair


At Badarpur hundreds of Women workers took out a rally headed by Smt. Sumana Banerjee, Secretary, Ladies Wing & Smt Namita Sarkar, Vice Chairperson.


At Bongaigaon about 800 ladies from Railway and Domostic workers from Bongaigaon, New Bongaigaon and Workshop Branches assembled at the Bongaigaon Railway Institute, where a mass meeting was held. The mass meeting was addressed by Smt. Jayashri Barua & Smt. Tutul Bhowmic both the Senior Advocates, Dr. Nita Mitra, Smt. Nirmala Mahanta, Senior Nursing officer, Smt Jitu Dasgupta, Chairperson, and Smt. Kiron Kalita Secretary of Domestic Workers Association, Smt. Nilima Biswas, Secretary of Railway women`s Organisation, Sarita Dey, Secretary of New Bongaigaon Womens Organisation etc.

A workshop on “ Awareness about Breast Cancer” was also held which was conducted by Dr. Nita Mitra and Smt. Nirmala Mahanta.