S. No, PC-VII/27                                                                                                                            RBE No. 77 12017

No. PC-V/2017/A/FPA/1                                                                                                     New Delhi, dated 28/07/2017

The General Managers

Ali Indian Railways & POs

(As per mailing list)

Subject:- Discontinuance of Family Planning Allowance for of small family norms  recommendation of the 7th Central Pay Commission.

Please refer to Board’S letter No. dated 14.10.2C08 No. 151/2008) regarding the existing rates of Family Planning (FPA) admissible to Railways employees and as provided for in para 9 of the Schedule för RS8P) Rules. 2016, dt 0208.2016 (RBE No.93/2016), the matter regarding allowances (except. Dearness Allowance) based on the recommendations the 7th Central Pay Commission were to be notified subsequently and separately. Until then, a!’ allowances were required to be paid at the existing rates in the existing pay structure (the Pay structure based on Pay Commission) as if the pay has not been revised w.e.f. January 2016. Accordingly, FPA was also required to be paid at the existing rates specified in the aforesaid Board’s letter dated 14102008,

2. The decisions of the Government on various Allowances based on the recommendations of the 7th Central Pay Commission and in the light of the recommendations of the Committee under the Chairmanship of the Finance Secretary for this have since been notified, The recommendation of the 7th Central Pay Commission to abolish Family Planning Allowance has been accepted and this decision is effective from 1st July, 2017. Accordingly, Family Planning Allowance, as admissible hitherto, shall cease to exist in all cases,

3. These orders shall take affect from 1st July, 2017 and hence Family Planning Allowance shall stand discontinued w.e.f, July, 2017.

4. This issues With the concurrence of the Finance Directorate of the Ministry of Railways,

5. Hindi version is enclosed


Dy. Director Commission-V

Railway Board